Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

DLR Astro Seminar 2019: 50th anniversary of the Moon landing – and since (part 6)

4. June 2019 @ 15:30 - 17:00

Public

Picture: NASA

Please note that all lectures of the 2019 Astroseminar are fully booked. Registration is no longer possible at this point. In case you wish to be waitlisted, please send an email to Rebecca.Bartkowski@dlr.de.

6. From the Moon to Mars – and beyond?

Humankind has been captivated by the Moon from the earliest days. It is used as a basis for calendars and provides light during full moons, and since time immemorial it has appeared an unattainable goal. But all this changed at the dawn of the space age. The orbiter Luna 3 managed to capture a first ‘rough’ view of the far side of the Moon in 1959. The sensation arrived in 1969, when two humans set foot on the Moon for the first time. Fifty years later, the Moon has once again become a destination for crewed missions. NASA intends to start building a space station in lunar orbit in 2020 (the Lunar Orbital Platform Gateway), and China plans to place astronauts and taikonauts on its surface from 2036 onwards. There are numerous projects for voyages to Mars in the period thereafter, although they would be technologically difficult and financially exorbitant due to the length of the mission and the distance from Earth, as well as presenting risks to the health of the astronauts. Missions to near-Earth asteroids are therefore being investigated as an interim solution. There are even plans to send crews to the icy moons of Jupiter and Saturn, although doing so would present even greater risks than those mentioned above. There are also ethical issues (for instance: planetary protection) associated with dispatching humans to places that may be home to lifeforms. All of these issues will need to be resolved.

Dr.-Ing. Christian Gritzner (born 1966) studied aviation and aerospace at TU Berlin from 1986 to 1992. He then completed a doctorate with a thesis on asteroid defence concepts in 1996. After a variety of positions within the industrial sector, in research and teaching, Dr Gritzner has been research fellow at the DLR Space Administration in Bonn-Oberkassel since 2005. Originally assigned to the Ariane 5 programme, in 2008 he moved to the Department of Extraterrestrial Physics, where he is responsible for the ESA missions JUICE, Herschel, Mars Express and others, as well as for the meteorological high-altitude research rockets. He has also been in charge of the Solar System Emissions sub-programme since 2016.

The event will be held at the Air Force Conference Centre, Wahn Air Force Base. Information on how to enter the Base complex and the parking facilities will be published ahead of the event on www.dlr.de.

For more information on the topic of the Astro Seminar, please contact Dr Manfred Gaida.

Details

Date:
4. June 2019
Time:
15:30 - 17:00
Website:
http://www.dlr.de/astroseminar2019

Further information

Astroseminar 2019 – Terminübersicht
File-size: 499.1 KB, pdf

Venue

Luftwaffenkaserne Wahn
Flughafenstraße 1
Köln, 51147 Deutschland
+ Google Map

Other

Öffentlich
Ja

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

DLR-Astroseminar 2019: 50 Jahre Mondlandung – und danach (Teil 6)

4. Juni 2019 @ 15:30 - 17:00

Öffentlich

Bild: NASA

Bitte beachten Sie, dass alle Termine ausgebucht sind! Es sind keine weiteren Anmeldungen mehr möglich.
Bei Interesse wenden Sie sich bitte an Rebecca.Bartkowski@dlr.de und wir setzen Sie auf die Warteliste.

6. Vom Mond zum Mars – und darüber hinaus?

Seit jeher ist der Mensch vom Mond fasziniert. Er hilft als Kalender, bei Vollmond als Beleuchtung und schien seit ewigen Zeiten ein unerreichbares Ziel zu sein. Das änderte sich erst mit dem Beginn des Raumfahrtzeitalters. Schon 1959 gelang der Raumsonde Luna 3 ein erster ‚grober‘ Blick auf die stets erdabgewandte Rückseite des Mondes. Die Sensation geschah dann im Jahr 1969, als zwei Menschen zum allerersten Mal den Mond betraten. 50 Jahre später ist der Mond wieder zum Ziel astronautischer Missionen geworden. Die NASA will ab dem Jahr 2020 eine Raumstation im Mondorbit errichten („Lunar Orbital Platform-Gateway“) und China hat vor, ab dem Jahr 2036 sogar Astronauten bzw. Taikonauten auf der Mondoberfläche absetzen. Für die Zeit danach gibt es zahlreiche Pläne für Flüge zum Mars, was aber wegen der langen Missionsdauer und Entfernung zur Erde technologisch schwierig, finanziell sehr aufwändig und für die Astronauten gesundheitlich riskant ist. Als Zwischenlösung wurden daher auch Missionen zu erdnahen Asteroiden untersucht. Es gibt sogar Ideen, mit Menschen die Eismonde des Jupiter und Saturn zu besuchen, wobei sich die genannten Probleme hierbei noch verstärken würden. Zudem bestehen ethische Fragen (Stichwort: Planetary Protection), wenn es darum geht Menschen an Orte zu bringen, die eventuell Leben beherbergen. All diese Probleme müssen noch gelöst werden.

Dr.-Ing. Christian Gritzner (Jg. 1966) studierte von 1986-1992 an der Technischen Universität Berlin Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik. Im Jahre 1996 erfolgte die Promotion zum Dr.-Ing. mit einer Dissertation über Konzepte zur Asteroidenabwehr. Nach verschiedenen Tätigkeiten in Industrie, Forschung und Lehre ist Dr. Gritzner seit 2005 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im DLR-Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn-Oberkassel. Anfangs im ARIANE 5 Programm tätig, wechselte er 2008 in der Abteilung Extraterrestrik und ist dort u.a. für die ESA-Missionen JUICE, Herschel und Mars Express sowie für meteorologische Höhenforschungsraketen zuständig. Seit 2016 leitet er zudem das Teilprogramm „Sonnensystemmissionen“.

  • Die Veranstaltung findet im Konferenzzentrum der Luftwaffe, Luftwaffenkaserne Wahn, statt.  Über den Einlass auf das Kasernengelände und die Parkmöglichkeiten wird rechtzeitig auf www.dlr.de informiert.
  • Ansprechpartner für inhaltliche Fragen und Hinweise zu den Themen des Astroseminars: Dr. Manfred Gaida.

Details

Datum:
4. Juni 2019
Zeit:
15:30 - 17:00
Webseite:
http://www.dlr.de/astroseminar2019

Zusatzinfo

Astroseminar 2019 – Terminübersicht
Dateigröße: 511105, pdf

Veranstaltungsort

Luftwaffenkaserne Wahn
Flughafenstraße 1
Köln, 51147 Deutschland
+ Google Karte

Weitere Angaben

Öffentlich
Ja