JECWorld 2019

According to figures from the organiser, the JEC Group, JECWorld is the leading international trade fair focusing on composite materials and their applications, with some 43,000 visitors (2018 data). JECWorld is held every spring in Paris. Seventy-three percent of visitors come from Europe. Alongside France and Italy, Germany is strongly represented, ranking second among the 115 guest countries with over 280 exhibitors. In addition, the Asia-Pacific region and North and South America are well represented at JECWorld. Thirty-three percent of trade visitors are from the aviation industry, followed by 26 percent from the automotive industry and road-based transport in general.

News

News 12

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Virtual Aircraft Maintenance

Maria Moix-Bonet from the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems demonstrates the possibility of future aircraft maintenance based on augmented reality, remote collaboration and a decentralised database (digital twin), using the Airbrake as an example.

News 11

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures

Lightweight and fuel saving: Srinivas Vasista from the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems explains our Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures and Additive Composite Structures model at JECWorld.

News 10

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Automated Fibre Placement

Automated Fibre Placement (AFP) has been used to manufacture a sounding rocket primary structure. See what else is possible with carbon fibre-reinforced thermoplastics. Ashley Chadwick from DLR at JECWorld.

News 9

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Lift-off for a hightech plastics repair concept developed by DLR founder team

The DLR spin-off msquare provides a new technology to repair damages in composite material structures fast and precisely.

Continue here

News 8

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Inductive welding of CF thermoplastics

At JECWorld, Niklas Menke (DLR Center for Lightweight-Production-Technology, Stade) explains the challenges of this procedure.

News 7

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Integrated and automated production of a dry-fibre rear pressure bulkhead

Within the PROTEC NSR project, the Center for Lightweight Production Technology (ZLP) in Augsburg develops an integrated manufacturing process for full-scale structural components such as a double-curved rear pressure bulkhead (4.5 metre diameter). The researchers recently succeeded in demonstrating an integrated VAP© vacuum-bagging process, enabled by an automated Pick-and-Place process. Using a flexible multikinematic gripper, 26 plies of varying geometries are positioned and fixed exactly. In addition, an automated dry fibre pick-and-place process with different gripper systems has been developed. This industrialised process combines the advantages of the respective single-step actions, reduces total manufacturing time, and enables a highly reproducible placing quality.

News 6

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Thermoplastic Automated Tape Placement

The Institute of Structures and Design develops laser-based in-situ tape placement for industrial application. Therefore, it features a state-of-the-art Automated Tape Placement (ATP) facility for the manufacturing of fibre-reinforced thermoplastic components. Working closely with fibre and thermoplastic tape suppliers, as well as industrial and academic researchers, innovative new parts for aeronautical, space, and automotive applications are developed.

News 5

Thursday, 14 March 2019 | Robot-based Continuous Ultrasonic Welding

At the Center for Lightweight Production Technology (ZLP) in Augsburg a robot-based continuous ultrasonic welding system has been developed. Mounted on an industrial robot on a seven meter linear track, it allows the flexible machining of huge plane and double-curved structures. The functional efficiency has already been proven on various components such as a stiffened fuselage panel or a rear pressure bulkhead. For a robust process, the accuracy of the welding process was qualified via a laser tracker system which measures the position of the end-effector during the welding process. Furthermore, the real time process data acquisition records process parameters such as pressure or welding power. This data is used during the process for an in-line quality assurance.

News 4

Wednesday, 13 March 2019 | Thermoplastic Rear Pressure Bulkhead

At JEC World, Sebastian Nowotny (DLR Institute of Structures and Design) explains the advantages of welding compared to riveting in composites production, taking the rear pressure bulkhead of an airplane as example.

News 3

Wednesday, 13 March 2019 | DLR´s Technology Marketing

How can companies partake in DLR technologies? How does DLR markets its own technologies? At the JEC World in Paris, Oliver Miedaner talks about DLR technology marketing.

News 2

Tuesday, 12 March 2019 | World Premiere at JEC: DLR´s mobile layer unit

Novel mobile layup units can move around freely and lay the fibres directly in the mould. Several small, free-moving autonomous mobile layup units are expected to respond more flexibly than was previously the case to component scaling, geometry and design changes when used in a swarm, without rigid, limiting guidance kinematics. As there is no requirement to reinforce the facility’s foundations, the technology can be used within existing production halls. The use of mobile layup units in the production of large fibre-composite components is not limited to the field of aeronautics; another possible application is the production of wind turbine rotor blades. Since the mobile layup units can be deployed in such a flexible way, they could also be used to produce flat building components from fibre composites directly on construction sites.

Jec_red

News 1

Tuesday, 12 March 2019 | Fibre-composite lightweight construction: DLR at JECWorld 2019

As part of JECWorld 2019, the leading European trade fair for fibre-composite technology, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is presenting its current research projects from 12 to 14 March 2019 in Paris. Among 1300 international exhibitors from research institutions and industry, DLR is represented by the Stuttgart-based Institute of Structures and Design, the Braunschweig-based Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, and the Center for Lightweight-Production-Technology (ZLP) in Augsburg and Stade. They will be showcasing a wide range of examples of applications from the fields of aeronautics and space.

 

From 12 to 14 March 2019, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) will present current research projects in the field of high-performance fibre-reinforced plastics at JEC World in Paris, the leading European composites trade fair. This year, the joint presentation of the DLR Institute of Structures and Design, the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems and the Center for Lightweight Production Technology (ZLP), located in Augsburg and Stade, focuses on innovative technologies for the efficient production of composite fibre components. At the approximately 90-square-metre DLR stand, located in Hall 5 (E67), researchers will showcase and explain a wide range of applications, particularly in the field of aerospace.

In addition, DLR will be represented in the area “Composites in Action – Additive Manufacturing” where it is going to introduce new methods for the 3D printing of fibre composites.

At the “Innovation Planet – Construction & Energy” area, DLR is going to showcase its results in wind energy research in the project SmartBlades2.

Contact

DLR Institute of Structures and Design: nicole.waibel@dlr.de

DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems: jana.hoidis@dlr.de

DLR Event Management: michael.mueller@dlr.de

AddCompS (TM) – Additive Composite Structures

AddCompS (TM) – Additive Composite Structures

Additive Manufacturing

Additive Manufacturing

AFP Primary Structure For Sounding Rockets (ATEK)

AFP Primary Structure For Sounding Rockets (ATEK)

Curing Sensors

Curing Sensors

Automated Production and Assembly of Thermoplastic Composite Structures (TRuTh)

Automated Production and Assembly of Thermoplastic Composite Structures (TRuTh)

Automated Process Chain (PROTEC NSR)

Automated Process Chain (PROTEC NSR)

Black Engine Technology

Black Engine Technology

CoRe HeaT

CoRe HeaT

FlexIn Heat® – flexible induction heating

FlexIn Heat® – flexible induction heating

Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures (FAMoUS)

Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures (FAMoUS)

humm3® Technology for Automated Layup of Thermoplastics

humm3® Technology for Automated Layup of Thermoplastics

Inductive Welding of CF-Thermoplastics

Inductive Welding of CF-Thermoplastics

Industry 4.0 for CFRP production

Industry 4.0 for CFRP production

Mobile Layup Unit

Mobile Layup Unit

Multi-kinematic Gripping System

Multi-kinematic Gripping System

Inline Quality Assurance

Inline Quality Assurance

Production Technology for Space

Production Technology for Space

Robot-based Continuous Ultrasonic Welding

Robot-based Continuous Ultrasonic Welding

SmartBlades2

SmartBlades2

Thermoplastic Rear Pressure Bulkhead

Thermoplastic Rear Pressure Bulkhead

Thermoplastic Composite Technology

Thermoplastic Composite Technology

Thermoplastic Automated Tape Placement

Thermoplastic Automated Tape Placement

Virtual Aircraft Maintenance

Virtual Aircraft Maintenance

Resistance Welding of Thermoplastic Composites

Resistance Welding of Thermoplastic Composites

JECWorld 2019

Die JECWorld ist nach Angaben des Veranstalters JEC Group mit gut 43.000 Fachbesuchern (Wert von 2018) die führende internationale Messe im Bereich Verbundwerkstoffe und deren Anwendungen. Die JECWorld findet jährlich im Frühjahr in Paris statt. 73 Prozent der Besucher kommen aus Europa. Neben Frankreich und Italien ist Deutschland stark vertreten: Unter den 115 Gastländern nimmt es mit über 280 Ausstellern den zweiten Rang ein. Darüber hinaus ist der asiatisch-pazifische Raum sowie Nord- und Südamerika auf der JECWorld gut repräsentiert. 33 Prozent der Fachbesucher haben ihren Hintergrund im Bereich der Luftfahrt, gefolgt von 26 Prozent im Bereich des Automobilbaus und des straßengebundenen Transports generell.

News

News 12

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Virtuelle Flugzeugwartung

Am Beispiel der Airbrake zeigt Maria Moix-Bonet vom DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik die zukünftige Möglichkeit zur Flugzeugwartung auf der Grundlage von Augmented Reality, Remote Collaboration und einer dezentralen Datenbank (Digitaler Zwilling).

News 11

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures

Leicht und Treibstoff-sparend: Srinivas Vasista vom DLR Institute für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik erklärt die auf der JECWorld vorgestellte 3D-gedruckte formvariable Flugzeugflügel-Hinterkante nach dem Vorbild einer Seeanemone.

News 10

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Automated Fibre Placement

Automated Fibre Placement (AFP) kann zur Herstellung der Primärstruktur einer Höhenforschungsrakete benutzt werden. Ashley Chadwick vom DLR erklärt auf der JECWorld, welche Einsatzmöglichkeiten darüber hinaus für Karbonfaser-verstärkte Kunststoffe bestehen.

News 9

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | DLR-Gründerduo startet durch mit Reparaturkonzept für Hightech-Kunststoffe

Ob für Flugzeuge, Autos und Schiffe oder die Rotoren von Windkraftanlagen – Hochleistungskunststoffe kommen immer häufiger dort zum Einsatz, wo Materialien mit geringem Gewicht und gleichzeitig hoher Festigkeit gefragt sind. Sind Strukturen aus solchen faserverstärkten Kunststoffen jedoch beschädigt, ist ihre Reparatur relativ schwierig und kostenintensiv. Zwei junge Forscher des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sind angetreten, das zu ändern: Mit ihrer Existenzgründung, der Firma msquare, wollen Markus Kaden und Marvin Schneider ein neues und effizientes Reparaturverfahren am Markt etablieren. Technologischer Kern ist ein innovatives Heizkonzept namens FlexIn Heat. Mit dessen Hilfe kann ein Reparaturstück schnell und präzise erhitzt werden, so dass es sich mit der umliegenden Struktur verbindet.

Weiterlesen

News 8

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Faserverbundwerkstoffe durch Induktion verschweißen

Über die Herausforderungen dieses Verfahrens gibt Niklas Menke vom Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie des DLR am Standort Stade auf der JECWorld Auskunft.

News 7

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Durchgängig automatisierte Prozesskette für CFK-Fertigung großer Strukturtbauteile

Im Projekt ProtecNSR untersucht das Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie (ZLP) in Augsburg anhand der Fertigung einer Druckkalotte die Verkettung von automatisierten Teilprozessen zu einem durchgängigen Gesamtprozess. Den Forschern gelang es, an dem doppelt gekrümmten Bauteil mit viereinhalb Metern Durchmesser einen durchgängigen VAP©-Vakuumaufbau erfolgreich zu demonstrieren. Möglich wurde das unter anderem durch einen automatisierten Pick-and-Place-Prozess. Mit einem flexibel einsetzbaren Multikinematik-Greifsystem wurden 26 Hilfsstoffpakete unterschiedlicher Geometrie positionsgenau abgelegt und fixiert. Außerdem konnte ein Pick-and-Place- Trockenfaserprozess mit verschiedenen Greifersystemen entwickelt werden. Der industrienahe Prozess, der die Vorteile einzelner Schritte kombiniert und diese verknüpft, spart Zeit und ermöglicht eine reproduzierbare Ablagequalität.

News 6

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Thermoplastische Tapelegetechnologie

Das DLR-Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie forscht am laserbasierten In-situ Tapelegen für die industrielle Anwendung. Dazu steht dem Institut eine robotergestützte Tapelegemaschine zur Erforschung und Entwicklung thermoplastischer Hochleistungsstrukturen zur Verfügung. Zusammen mit Faser- und Halbzeugherstellern sowie Kooperationspartnern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft werden neue monolithische und hybride Leichtbauweisen für Luft- und Raumfahrzeuge sowie für Automobile entwickelt.

News 5

Donnerstag, 14. März 2019 | Robotergestütztes kontinuierliches Ultraschallschweißen

Am Zentrum für Leichtbautechnologie (ZLP) in Augsburg wurde ein roboterbasiertes kontinuierliches Ultraschallschweißsystem entwickelt.  Dieses ermöglicht die flexible Bearbeitung von großen ebenen und doppelt gekrümmten Strukturen. Die Funktionstüchtigkeit wurde bereits an verschiedenen Komponenten wie einem versteiften Rumpfhautfeld oder einer Druckkalotte nachgewiesen. Für einen robusten Prozess wurde die Genauigkeit des Schweißprozesses über ein Laser-Tracker-System qualifiziert, das die Position des Endeffektors während des Schweißprozesses misst. Darüber hinaus zeichnet die Echtzeit-Prozessdatenerfassung Parameter wie Druck oder Schweißleistung auf. Diese Daten werden während des Prozesses für eine Inline-Qualitätssicherung verwendet.

News 4

Mittwoch 13. März 2019 | Thermoplastische Druckkalotte

Sebastian Nowotny vom DLR-Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie erklärt auf der JECWorld anhand einer Druckkalotte eines Flugzeugs die Vorteile des Schweißverfahren gegenüber dem Nietverfahren bei CFK-Leichtbauteilen.

News 3

Mittwoch, 13. März 2019 | DLR Technologiemarketing

Wie können Unternehmen an DLR-Technologien partizipieren? Wie bringt das DLR seine Technologien in den Markt? Oliver Miedaner spricht auf der JECWorld in Paris über das DLR-Technologiemarketing.

News 2

Dienstag, 12. März 2019 | Weltpremiere auf der JEC: Mobile Faserablegeeinheit des DLR

Neuartige mobile Ablegeeinheiten sollen sich zukünftig kooperierend im Schwarm frei auf einem Formwerkzeug bewegen und direkt Fasern ablegen. Sie lassen sich leicht in eine bestehende Halleninfrastruktur integrieren, ohne dass beispielsweise Fundamente aufwändig verstärkt werden müssen. Ihr Einsatz in der Fertigung großflächiger Faserverbundbauteile ist nicht nur auf den Bereich der Luftfahrt beschränkt. Auch die Produktion von Rotorblättern für Windkraftanlagen ist ein möglicher Anwendungsfall. Da diese mobilen Ablegeeinheiten so flexibel einsetzbar sind, wäre auch denkbar, flächige Gebäudestrukturen aus Faserverbund direkt am Zielort zu fertigen.

Jec_red

News 1

Dienstag, 12. März 2019 |  Faserverbundleichtbau: Das DLR auf der JECWorld 2019

Im Rahmen der europäischen Leitmesse für Faserverbundtechnologie, JECWorld 2019, präsentiert das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) aktuelle Forschungsprojekte vom 12. bis 14. März 2019 in Paris. Neben 1.300 internationalen Austellern aus Forschung und Industrie ist das DLR mit dem Stuttgarter Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie, dem Braunschweiger Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik und dem Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie aus Augsburg und Stade vertreten. Der DLR-Stand zeigt auf 90 Quadratmetern vielfältige Beispiele für Anwendungen aus den Bereichen der Luft- und Raumfahrt.

 

Weiterlesen

Auf der JECWorld in Paris, der europäischen Leitmesse für Faserverbundleichtbau, präsentiert das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) vom 12. bis 14. März 2019 aktuelle Forschungsprojekte rund um das Thema faserverstärkte Hochleistungskunststoffe. Im Mittelpunkt des gemeinsamen Auftritts des DLR-Instituts für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie, des DLR-Instituts für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik und des Zentrums für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie (ZLP) in Augsburg und Stade stehen in diesem Jahr innovative Technologien für die effiziente Produktion von Faserverbundbauteilen. Am rund 90 Quadratmeter großen DLR-Stand in Halle 5 (E67) zeigen und erklären die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler vielfältige Beispiele für Anwendungen vor allem aus den Bereichen der Luft- und Raumfahrt.

Zusätzlich ist das DLR im Bereich „Composites in Action – Additive Manufacturing“ vertreten und stellt dort neue Verfahren zum 3D-Druck von Faserverbunden vor.

Im Bereich „Innovation Planet – Construction & Energy“ zeigt das DLR seine Ergebnisse in der Windenergieforschung im Projekt SmartBlades2.

Kontakt

DLR Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie: nicole.waibel@dlr.de

DLR Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik: jana.hoidis@dlr.de

DLR Veranstaltungsmanagement: michael.mueller@dlr.de

AddCompS (TM) – Additive Composite Structures

AddCompS (TM) – Additive Composite Structures

Additive Manufacturing

Additive Manufacturing

AFP-Primärstruktur für Forschungsraketen (ATEK)

AFP-Primärstruktur für Forschungsraketen (ATEK)

Aushärtungssensoren

Aushärtungssensoren

Automatisierte Herstellung und Montage von thermoplastischen Verbundstrukturen (TRuTh)

Automatisierte Herstellung und Montage von thermoplastischen Verbundstrukturen (TRuTh)

Automatisierte Prozesskette (PROTEC NSR)

Automatisierte Prozesskette (PROTEC NSR)

Black Engine Technologie

Black Engine Technologie

CoRe HeaT

CoRe HeaT

FlexIn Heat® – flexible Induktionheizung

FlexIn Heat® – flexible Induktionheizung

Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures (FAMoUS)

Fluid Actuated Morphing Unit Structures (FAMoUS)

humm3® Technologie zur automatisierten Ablage von Thermoplasten

humm3® Technologie zur automatisierten Ablage von Thermoplasten

Induktive Verschweißung von CF-Thermoplasten

Induktive Verschweißung von CF-Thermoplasten

Industrie 4.0 für CFK-Produktion

Industrie 4.0 für CFK-Produktion

Mobile Ablegeeinheit

Mobile Ablegeeinheit

Multikinematikgreifer

Multikinematikgreifer

Produktionsintegrierte Qualitätssicherung

Produktionsintegrierte Qualitätssicherung

Produktionstechnologie für die Raumfahrt

Produktionstechnologie für die Raumfahrt

Robotergestütztes kontinuierliches Ultraschallschweißen

Robotergestütztes kontinuierliches Ultraschallschweißen

SmartBlades2

SmartBlades2

Thermoplastische Druckkalotte

Thermoplastische Druckkalotte

Thermoplastische Faserverbundtechnologie

Thermoplastische Faserverbundtechnologie

Thermoplastisches Tapelegen

Thermoplastisches Tapelegen

Virtuelle Flugzeugwartung

Virtuelle Flugzeugwartung

Widerstandsschweißen thermoplastischer Faserverbunde

Widerstandsschweißen thermoplastischer Faserverbunde

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website des Veranstalters.